Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

This week marks the 10 year anniversary of my dad passing from ALS and I can’t think of a better way of remembering him with baseball with my sis.  So as fate has it, an annual work conference that is normally earlier in the month got moved to this week and spring training starts on Thursday!  I can’t wait to root on my boys in green and gold with my sis! So this week’s recipe is going to be my fan favorite (at least as my friends tell me) – bacon wrapped jalapenos!

I’ve tried a few different ways of how to cook these but I find the best to wrap tightly and cook in a layer of foil sheet but you can insert toothpicks and cook in pan or come up with your own new way.  If you have a suggestion on best way to cook these, leave a comment.  I love trying new ways but for now this has been the best way

img_9514default

Ingredients

  • Large jalapenos (pick the largest you can find when purchasing)
  • Cream cheese
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Bacon
  • Foil

Directions

  1. Mix cream cheese and cheddar cheese
  2. Cut jalapenos in half and clean out seeds and membranes (I recommend using gloves or a piece of paper towel in case they are spicy)
  3. Cut bacon in 2 or 3 pieces depending on how long the bacon is
  4. Fill the jalapeno with the cream cheese/cheddar mixture
  5. Wrap tightly with bacon
  6. Put into foil sheet and place over the fire in indirect heat (away from flames) or on a bbq grill
  7. Cook until bacon is done to your liking and cream cheese is boiling

img_7276.jpg

Note: Recommend letting them cool even though you will want to pop them in your mouth as soon as you take them off the heat 😉

And finally…

Related image

 

Leave a comment