Campfire Monkey Bread

I have to admit, the first time I made this for my friends, I had never had monkey bread and had no idea how it would turn out.  It was such a hit (devoured in minutes) that it is a must have for at least one breakfast during every camping trip now!

monkeybread

 

Ingredients –

  • Cinnamon Sugar Mix (1 part cinnamon to 3 parts sugar mixed in a zip-lock bag.  I usually do 1 cup sugar to 1/3 cup cinnamon)
    • I will make this before we leave for the trip
  • 1 can of  Pillsbury Grands Original Flaky Biscuits
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar

Instructions –

  1. Line a cast iron page with foil.  I usually double up to ensure easy cleanup.
  2. Remove biscuits from can and cut into fourths.
  3. Taking about 4 – 5 at a time, add to cinnamon sugar bag and shake until biscuits are fully covered in the mixture.
  4. Add biscuit pieces to the cast iron pan.
  5. Repeat until all biscuits have been coated with cinnamon sugar and lined in the pan.
  6. Melt 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup of brown sugar in a small pan.  I usually have a small propane grill with me that I will use for this but can do on a campfire as well.  Once melted and mixed together, pour evenly over the biscuits in the pan.  Cover cast iron pan with a layer of foil and put over the campfire in indirect heat.  Make sure the pan is not completely over the flames as this will burn the bottoms more than you want. (A little burnt is bottom gives it a crunchy finish)
  7. Bake for about 45 min – an hour or once all of the biscuits have puffed up and look finished.

Remove from the fire, pull a piece off, and enjoy with a cup of coffee!

2 thoughts on “Campfire Monkey Bread

Leave a comment